Function Composition Common Core Algebra 2 Homework Assignments

Common Core Algebra 2 Course Information:

Welcome to Common Core Algebra 2

This is the third course in the  New York State Common Core high school mathematics curriculum required for a Regents diploma with advanced designation. You will be building upon concepts previously learned in Algebra 1 and Geometry, as well as continuing to deepen your knowledge of higher mathematics. New York State Common Core expects you to have conceptual understanding of key concepts, procedural fluency with mathematical skills, and the ability to correctly apply math in situations that require mathematical knowledge. The pace and rigor of this course will demand that students dedicate a significant amount of time outside of the classroom. Most students have found that to be successful, seeking after school help on a regular basis is necessary. This is a very tough course that requires a large commitment both in and outside of class!  At the conclusion of the course, students will take the New York State Algebra 2 Common Core Regents Exam.

 

Tuesday 1/9/18 and Wednesday 1/10/18

Classwork: Unit 7 DAY 2 MULTIPLYING AND DIVIDING RATIONAL EXPRESSIONS

Homework: Unit 7 Homework #2 - Multiplying and Dividing Rational Expressions

Unit 1-7 Common Core Exam Prep is Due FRIDAY 1/19/18

 

Tuesday 10/31/17

Classwork: 

Unit 3 Day 8 WRITING EQUATIONS OF A PARABOLA USING VERTEX, FOCUS, AND DIRECTRIX

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #8 Writing Equations of a Parabola Using Vertex, Focus, and Directrix

Unit 3 Homework #8 Writing Equations of a Parabola Using Vertex, Focus, and Directrix Solution

Unit 3 Exam on Applications of Quadratic Functions: Monday 11/6/17

 

Monday 10/30/17

Classwork: 

Unit 3 Day 7 THE AVERAGE RATE OF CHANGE OF A QUADRATIC FUNCTION

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #7 The Average Rate of Change of a Quaratic Function

Unit 3 Exam on Applications of Quadratic Functions: Monday 11/6/17

 

Thursday 10/26/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 6 MODELING USING QUADRATIC REGRESSION

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #6 Modeling Using Quadratic Regression

Unit 3 Homework #6 Modeling Using Quadratic Regression Solution

Unit 1-3 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due MONDAY 10/30/17

Unit 3 Exam on Applications of Quadratic Functions: Monday 11/6/17

 

Wednesday 10/25/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 5 MORE MODELING WITH QUADRATIC FUNCTIONS

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #5 More Modeling With Quadratic Functions

Unit 1-3 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due MONDAY 10/30/17

Unit 3 Exam on Applications of Quadratic Functions: Monday 11/6/17

 

Tuesday 10/24/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 4 MODELING WITH QUADRATIC FUNCTIONS

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #4 Modeling With Quadratic Functions

Unit 1-3 Common Core Exam Prep: Due MONDAY 10/30/17

 

Monday 10/23/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 3 SOLVING SYSTEMS OF EQUATIONS WITH CIRCLES

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #3 Solving Systems of Equations With Circles

Unit 3 Homework #3 Solving Systems of Equations With Circles Solution

Unit 1-3 Common Core Exam Prep: Due MONDAY 10/30/17

 

Friday 10/20/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 2 EQUATIONS OF CIRCLES

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #2 Equations of Circles

Unit 1-3 Common Core Exam Prep: Due MONDAY 10/30/17

 

Thursday 10/19/17

Classwork:

Unit 3 Day 1 SOLUTIONS TO QUADRATIC LINEAR SYSTEMS OF EQUATIONS

Homework:

Unit 3 Homework #1 Solutions to Systems of Quadratic Linear Equations

Unit 3 Homework #1 Solutions to Systems of Quadratic Linear Equations Solution

 

Wednesday 10/18/17

Day 2 of Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions 

 

Tuesday 10/17/17

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Today and Tomorrow

 

Monday 10/16/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 REVIEW: QUADRATICS 'The Big Picture'

Homework:

Unit 2 REVIEW: QUADRATICS 'The Big Picture'

Unit 2 Review - Quadratics "The Big Picture" Solution

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Tuesday, Wednesday 10/17/17 - 10/18/17

 

Friday 10/13/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 12 THE DISCRIMINANT AND NATURE OF THE ROOTS

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #12 The Discriminant and Nature of the Roots

Unit 2 Homework #12 The Discriminant and Nature of the Roots

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Tuesday, Wednesday 10/17/17 - 10/18/17

 

Thursday 10/12/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 11 FINDING THE VERTEX OF A QUADRATIC EQUATION BY COMPLETING THE SQUARE

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #11 Finding the Vertex of a Quadratic Equation by Completing the Square

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep is due TOMORROW!!  Come see me after school for help until 3:30 p.m.!!

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Tuesday, Wednesday 10/17/17 - 10/18/17

 

Wednesday 10/11/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 10 OPERATIONS ON COMPLEX NUMBERS

 

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #10 Operations on Complex Numbers

Unit 2 Homework #10 Operations on Complex Numbers Solution

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Tuesday, Wednesday 10/17/17 - 10/18/17

 

Tuesday 10/10/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 9 SOLVING QUADRATIC EQUATIONS USING COMPLETE THE SQUARE Solution

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #9 Solving Quadratic Equations Using Complete the Square

Unit 2 Homework #9 Solving Quadratic Equations Using Complete the Square Solution

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

Unit 2 Exam on Quadratic Functions:  Tuesday, Wednesday 10/17/17 - 10/18/17

 

Friday 10/6/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 8 INTRODUCTION TO IMAGINARY AND COMPLEX

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #8 Introduction to Imaginary and Complex Numbers

Unit 2 Homework #8 Introduction to Imaginary and Complex Numbers Solution

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

 

Thursday 10/5/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 7 THE QUADRATIC FORMULA

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #7 The Quadratic Formula

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

 

Wednesday 10/4/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 6 FINDING X-INTERCEPTS USING THE ZERO PRODUCT PROPERTY

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #6 Finding X-Intercepts Using the Zero Product Property

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

 

Tuesday 10/3/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 5 THE ZERO PRODUCT PROPERTY

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #5 Solving Quadratic Equations Algebraically and Review

Unit 2 Homework #5 Solving Quadratic Equations Algebraically and Review Solution

Unit 1-2 Common Core Exam Prep:  Due FRIDAY 10/13/17

 

Monday 10/2/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 4 FACTORING USING GROUPING

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #4 Factoring Using Grouping

Unit 2 Homework #4 Factoring Using Grouping Solution

 

Friday 9/29/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 3 FACTORING COMPLETELY

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #3 Factoring Completely

 

Thursday 9/28/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 2b FACTORING THE SUM AND DIFFERENCE OF CUBES 2 Day 2b FACTORING THE SUM AND DIFFERENCE OF CUBES

Homework:o

Unit 2 Homework #2b Factoring the Sum and Difference of Cubes H

 

Wednesday 9/27/17/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 2 MORE ADVANCED FACTORING

Homework:

Unit 2 Homework #2 More Advanced Factoring

Unit 2 Homework #2 Advanced Factoring Solution

 

Tuesday 9/26/17

Classwork:

Unit 2 Day 1 REVIEW OF QUADRATIC FUNCTIONS

Homework:

Unit 2 Day 1 The Graph of a Quadratic Function

Unit 2 Homework #1 The Graph of a Quadratic Function Solution
 

Monday 9/25/17

Classwork:

Unit 1 Exam on Linear Functions


Friday 9/8/17

 

 

 This course is the capstone course of the three units of credit required for an Advanced Regents diploma. This course follows the NYS Algebra II Common Core curriculum. This course is a continuation and extension of the two courses that preceded it. The families of functions to be studied will include polynomials, absolute value, radical, trigonometric, exponential, and logarithmic functions. Other topics will include but not limited to: advanced algebraic techniques, data analysis extended to include measures of dispersion and the analysis of regression and associated correlation coefficients, arithmetic and geometric sequences, probability theory and the normal probability distribution, right triangle trigonometry expanded to include the investigation of circular functions, trigonometric equations, and trigonometric identities. This course culminates with the NYS Algebra II Regents Examination. 

 

Wednesday September 6:

Student Expectations

Homework: Get student expectation sheet signed

 

Thursday September 7:

Lesson 1: Adding and Subtracting Polynomials

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Friday September 8:

Lesson 2:Basic Exponent Rules, Beginning of Multiplying Monomials and Polynomials

Homework: Lesson 2 Questions in Packet and Part of Homework Section

 

Monday September 11:

Lesson 2: Finish

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework, Quiz Wednesday

 

Tuesday September 12:

Lesson 3: Parent Functions

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Wednesday September 13:

Quiz on Lesson 1 and Lesson 2

Lesson 4: Functional Notation and Evaluation

Homework: Finish Lesson 4 Homework

 

Thursday September 14:

Lesson 5: Composition of Functions

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework an Review Packet

 

Friday September 15:

Lesson 6: One-to-one Functions and Inverses

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Monday September 18:

Lesson 7: Key Features

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework

 

Tuesday September 19:

Review for Test

Homework: Finish Review Packet

 

Wednesday September 20:

Test

Homework: 

 

Thursday September 21 - Friday September 22:

No School

 

Monday September 25:

Unit 2 Lesson 1: Linear and Absolute Value Functions

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Tuesday September 26:

Unit 2 Lesson 2: Average Rate of Change

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Wednesday September 27:

Unit 2 Lesson 3: Slope-Intercept and Point-Slope

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Thursday September 28:

Unit 2 Lesson 4: Translations and Reflections

Homework: Problems in Packet

 

Friday September 29:

Quiz

Homework: Ditto 

 

Monday October 2:

Unit 2 Lesson 5: Dilations

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Tuesday October 3:

Unit 2 Lesson 6: Inverse of Linear Functions

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Wednesday October 4:

Unit 2 Lesson 7: System of Equations with 2 Variables

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework

 

Thursday October 5:

Unit 2 Lesson 8: System of Equations 3 Variables

Homework: Lesson 8 Homework

 

Friday October 6:

Unit 2 Lesson 9: Linear Modeling

Homework: Lesson 9 Homework

 

Monday October 9:

No School

 

Tuesday October 10:

Unit 2 Lesson 10: Linear Regression

Homework:  Lesson 10 Homework

 

Wednesday October 11:

Review for Test

Homework: Finish Review Sheet

 

Thursday October 12:

Test

Homework: Regents Review due Monday 10/16

 

Friday October 13:

Unit 3 Lesson 1: Key Features of Quadratics

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Monday October 16:

Review for Test

Homework: Finish Review Sheet

 

Tuesday October 17:

Test

Homework: Regents Review  # 2 due Wednesday 10/25

 

Wednesday October 18:

Unit 3 Lesson 1: Key Features of Quadratics

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Thursday October 19:

Unit 3 Lesson 2: Key Features of Quadratics

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Friday October 20:

Unit 3 Lesson 3: Even/Odd Functions and Inverses

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Monday October 23:

Lesson 4: Transformations of Quadratics

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Tuesday October 24:

Lesson 5: Writing the Equation from a Graph

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Wednesday October 25:

Unit 3 Lesson 6: Word Problems and Regression

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Thursday October 26:

Unit 3 Lesson 7: Locus Definition of a Parabola

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework

 

Friday October 27:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Monday October 30:

Review Quadratics

Homework: none

 

Tuesday October 31:

Lesson 7: Focus and Directrix

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework

 

Wednesday November 1:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Thursday November 2:

 

Friday November 3:

Lesson 1: Radicals

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Monday November 6:

Lesson 2: Complex Numbers

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Tuesday November 7:

No School

 

Wednesday November 8:

Lesson 3: Factoring using GCF and DOTS

Homework: Study Test Tomorrow

 

Thursday November 9:

Finish Packets

Homework: Factoring Ditto and Complex Numbers

 

Friday November 10:

No School

 

Monday November 13:

Lesson 4: Factoring Trinomials

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Tuesday November 14:

Lesson 5: Factoring Grouping and Perfect Cubes

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Wednesday November 15:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Thursday November 16:

Test

Homework: Regents Review Assignment Castle Learning

 

Friday November 17:

Test

Homework: Work on Castle Learning

 

Monday November 20:

Lesson 1: Solving Quadratic Equation and Polynomials

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Tuesday November 21:

Lesson 2: Solve by Completing the Square

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Wednesday November 22:

Lesson 3: Converting to Vertex Form

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Thursday November 23 - Friday November 24:

No School 

 

Monday November 27:

Lesson 4: Quadratic Formula

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

Castle Learning due tonight

 

Tuesday November 28:

Lesson 5: Discriminant

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework, Quiz Tomorrow

 

Wednesday November 29:

Quiz

Lesson 6: Solving Non-Linear Systems

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Thursday November 30:

Lesson 7: Quadratic Inequalities

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework, Quiz Tomorrow

 

Friday December 1:

Review for Test

Homework: Finish Review Packet

 

Monday December 4:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Tuesday December 5:

Test

Lesson 1: Polynomial Identities

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Wednesday December 6:

Lesson 2: Long Division

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Thursday December 7:

Lesson 3: Synthetic Division

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Friday December 8:

Lesson 4: Remainder and Factor Theorem

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Monday December 11:

Lesson 5: Finding Zeros of Polynomials

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Tuesday December 12:

Lesson 6: Modeling with Polynomials

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Wednesday December 13:

Lesson 1: Power and Polynomial Functions

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Thursday December 14:

Lesson 2: Key Features of Polynomials

Homework: Leson 2 Homework

 

Friday December 15:

Lesson 3: Graphs and Zeros of Polynomial Functions

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Monday December 18:

Lesson 4: Graphing Polynomial Functions

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Tuesday December 19:

Lesson 1: Key Features of Rational Functions

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Wednesday December 20:

Lesson 2: Finding the Inverse and Transformations of Rational Functions

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Thursday December 21:

Lesson 3 and 4: Simplifying, Multiplying and Dividing Rationals 

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Friday December 22:

Finish Lesson 4

Quiz

Homework: Castle Learning due 1/5

 

Monday January 1:

No School

 

Tuesday January 2:

Finish Lesson 4

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Wednesday January 3:

Lesson 5: Adding and Subtracting Rationals

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Thursday January 4:

Snow Day

 

 

Friday January 5:

Snow Day

 

 

Monday January 8:

Lesson 6: Solving Rational Equations

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Tuesday January 9:

Lesson 7: Modeling with Rationals

Homework: Lesson 7 Homework

 

Wednesday January 10:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Thursday January 11:

Test

Homework: Midterm Review Packet # 1

 

Friday January 12: 

Midterm Review

Homework: Packet

 

Monday January 15:

No School

 

Tuesday January 16:

Midterm Review

Homework: Packet

 

Wednesday January 17:

Midterm Review

Homework: Packet

 

Thursday January 18:

Midterm Review

Homework: Packet

 

Friday January 19:

Midterm Review

Homework: Packet

 

Monday January 22 - Thursday January 25:

Midterms

 

Algebra 2 Common Core Midterm

Monday January 22

12:30 -2:00

 

Friday January 26:

Go over midterm

Homework: Finish Packet

 

Monday January 29:

Unit 9 Lesson 1: Sketching Radicals

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Tuesday January 30:

Unit 9 Lesson 2: Solving Radical Equations

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Wednesday January 31:

Unit 9 Lesson 3: Properties of Exponents

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Thursday February 1:

Unit 9 Lesson 4: nth roots and rational exponents

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework and Study for quiz

 

Friday February 2:

Quiz

Homework: Regents Review due Monday

 

Monday February 5:

Unit 10 Lesson 1: Exponential Functions

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Tuesday February 6:

Unit 10 Lesson 2: Transformations and Regression of Exponential Functions

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Wednesday February 7:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Thursday February 8:

Test

Homework: Review Sheet 

 

Friday February 9:

Unit 10 Lesson 3: Exponential Modeling

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Monday February 12:

Unit 10 Lesson 3: Exponential Modeling

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Tuesday February 13:

Unit 10 Lesson 4: Rewriting Exponential Equations

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Wednesday February 14:

Unit 10 Lesson 5: Exponential Equations

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Thursday February 15:

Unit 11 Lesson 1: Inverse of Exponential Equations

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Friday February 16:

Unit 11 Lesson 2: Evaluating a Log Function

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Monday February 19 - Friday February 23:

School Closed

 

Monday February 26:

Unit 11 Lesson 3: Properties of Logarithms

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Tuesday February 27:

 

ACT

 

Wednesday February 28:

Unit 11 Lesson 4: Solving Logarithmic Equations

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Thursday March 1:

Quiz

Finish Lesson 4

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Friday March 2:

Unit 11 Lesson 5: Modeling with Logarithms

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework, Castle Learning due March 12

 

Monday March 5:

Unit 11 Lesson 6: Logarithmic Regression

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Tuesday March 6:

Review for Test

Homework: Study

 

Wednesday March 7:

Test

Homework: Castle Learning due Monday March 12

 

Thursday March 8:

Unit 12 Lesson 1: Sequences

Homework: Lesson 1 Homework

 

Friday March 9:

Unit 12 Lesson 2: Arithmetic Sequences

Homework: Lesson 2 Homework

 

Monday March 12:

Unit 12 Lesson 3: Geometric Sequences

Homework: Lesson 3 Homework

 

Tuesday March 13:

Unit 12 Lesson 4: Sigma

Homework: Lesson 4 Homework

 

Wednesday March 14:

Quiz

Unit 12 Lesson 5: Arithmetic and Geometric Series and Applications

Homework: Lesson 5 Homework

 

Thursday March 15:

Unit 12 Lesson 6: Real World Problems Involving Sequences and Series

Review for Test

Homework: Lesson 6 Homework

 

Friday March 16:

Test

Homework: none

0 thoughts on “Function Composition Common Core Algebra 2 Homework Assignments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *